January 10, 2017

2017 Democratic National Committee Chair Election


In 2017, the Democratic National Committee will be electing a new Chairperson to lead the National Democratic Party. Voting members of the Democratic National Committee will gather in Atlanta, Georgia February 23-26th to elect National Party Leadership. Delaware’s voting DNC members are State Party Chairman John Daniello, State Party Vice Chair Lisa Goodman, and National Committee Members Robert Gilligan, Karen Valentine, Tony Coelho, and Valerie Longhurst. Members will be voting on National Committee Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, National Finance Chair, and Treasurer. This is in accordance with process established in the Democratic National Committee's Charter and Bylaws, which can be found here.


Candidates must file with the National Committee and have signatures from 20 voting DNC members to be considered. Below are the announced Candidates for DNC Chair,

Fox News Political Analyst, Jehmu Greene
Candidates for other leadership positions are as follows:

Vice Chair:
Michael Blake, New York State Assemblyman
Melissa Byrne, Former National GOTV Digital Director for Bernie 2016
Mitchell Caesar, Former Broward County Democratic Party Chair
Grace Meng, U.S. Congresswoman (NY)
Elizabeth Jaff, Head of Business Development and Campaigns for Crowdpac, Inc.
Lorna M. Johnson, Honorary Consul for Jamaica in Los Angeles
Latoia Jones, Assistant Director of Human Rights, American Federation of Teachers and Co-Founder of Black & Engaged
Rick Palacio, Colorado Democratic Party Chair
Adam Parkhomenko

Vice Chair of Civic Engagement and Voter Participation:
Karen Carter Peterson, Louisiana Democratic Party Chair
Melissa Fazli, Executive Board Member and Delegate for the California Democratic Party for Assembly District 55

Ana Cuprill, Wyoming Democratic Party Chair
Roberta Lange, Nevada Democratic Party Chair
Jason Rae, DNC Youth Council Chair
Stephanie Rawlings-Blake, DNC Secretary and Former Baltimore Mayor

Joyce Amico, President of JPCM Incorporated
William Derrough, Managing Director of Moelis & Company

National Finance Chair:
Henry Munoz III, DNC National Finance Chair


As part of the election process the Democratic National Committee will be hosting a series of public forums where registered Democrats can hear from the candidates.

  • January 13–14: Phoenix, AZ 
  • January 27–28: Houston, TX 
  • February 3–4: Detroit, MI 
  • February 10–11: Baltimore, MD 

For official updates on the election process follow @DNC on twitter. To read more about the process click here.